i’ve been thinking about writing a novel

March 31, 2005

It’s been a dream of mine for as long as I can remember and I’m going to give it a whirl. As I was rummaging around the ol’ ‘net tonight I came across an interesting site – How to Write a Novel in 100 Days or Less. I’m not too antsy to get it done that quickly, but there were a few things that I fond very useful towards getting me going. I’ve always considered my life too cluttered with the glorious trappings of family and career to be able to get this done, but John Coyne relays the following tidit which has pushed me over the brink: Yes, you have a job. Yes, you have a family. Neither have stopped great writers in the past. The poet Wallace Stevens was a vice president of an insurance company and an expert on the bond market. The young T.S. Eliot was a banker. William Carlos Williams was a pediatrician. Robert Frost was a poultry farmer. Hart Crane packed candy in his father’s warehouse, and later wrote advertising copy. Stephen Crane was a war correspondent. Marianne Moore worked at the New York Public Library. James Dickey worked for an advertising agency. Archibald MacLeish was Director of the Office of Facts and Figures during World War II.

Jesus. I’m just a web developer. I think I can carve out some time early in the morning or late at night to get this done. I have had a few ideas kicking around in my head for the past ten years. Yes, some of them are not conducive to a novel, but others might be.

I had planned on the doing the National Novel Writing Month in November this year, but why wait? I can’t wait to map some things out over the next few days and try to whip up a work schedule that won’t cut into family time too much. I think my best time is the late evening, but I;m going to give the mornings a try also and see what works best.

I’ll keep you up to date on how it’s going.

