Google Adsense Sucks

March 23, 2007

I like almost all of the Google tools. Seriously. I use A LOT of them, but Adsense is “teh suck”.

I wrote a piece in October or November that created a tidal wave of traffic. I created another site and thought, hell, why not add some Adsense. I used to use it, might as well try to get that $23 that they’ve been holding hostage for two years.

Google seems to think that keeping my money, money they’ve already collected from advertisers for years, is their prerogative (and it’s not like I’m sharing int the interest or anything). Financially, it’s a huge boon for them as the average Adsense user probably NEVER cashes out at the $100 minimum amount.

I’ve been wanting to remove it from the site entirely for months — for a number of reasons, but I’ve left it up hoping to finally get to that magical $100 mark. At this rate, I’m about 3 months away.

At that point, I’ll take my check and give ’em the finger.

5 Responses to “Google Adsense Sucks”

  1. noname1 Says:

    Sorry buddy, Google is never going to pay you. They will close your account right before it’s time to mail you that check and they will keep your money. They do it to everyone. Do a search for Adsense sucks, you’ll see what I mean.

  2. Ira Says:

    I’ve read the horror stories, but it’s worth a try. I also figure, that you’re going to get a pretty heavily-weighted horror to positive ratio in the forums and newsgroups, in the same way that you get more murder stories on the news than helpful-neighbor stories.

    Time will tell.

  3. Prabosh jog Says:

    Yep.. Google is THE WORST .. moment you reach 100$ they will disable your account.. So they keep the money advertisers pay and do not pay hte publishers. no wonder their advertise revenues are much higher.

  4. Ira Says:

    Got my check.

  5. Shijaz Says:

    I had the same experience with Google. They are crooks. I think they systematically select their victims randomly to make some extra cash.

    I’ve posted about my experiences here:
    http://lighterside.shijaz.com/2008/02/why-google-adsense-sucks.html


Comments are closed.

