iPhone GPS Issue?

September 1, 2008

Thought my phone was defective. Turns out it’s not.

My GPS went AWOL and wouldn’t come back no matter what I tried (rebooting, turning “Location Services” on and off and on and off and on and off, wandering around in the middle of a football field on a cloudless day staring at the heavens, cursing at the phone…).

I dug through every menu and just before setting up the appointment with those smug bastards at the “Genius Bar” I went through the menus again and found the “software reset”.

Where is it?

Settings –> General –> Reset –> Reset All Settings

Fixed the GPS issue for sure. I get the reticle bounce and then five to ten seconds later the little blue dot appears. Apart from fixing the issue I’d hoped it would, it doesn’t seem like it affected much besides shuffling all of the application icons insanely. I’d seriously love to know the algorithm they used for that.

I’m hoping it helps with the absolute abysmal battery life I’ve been getting too. Something clearly was not right.

