MacBook Pro Battery Update

September 30, 2008

Jamie wrote a piece today about his anemic battery life on his MacBook Pro. It’s been quite awhile since I tested mine, on my 23 month old machine, but suffice it to say, I travel nowhere without my power supply. My biggest problem isn’t the amount of time that appears in the calculated time left area. It will tell me I have nearly two hours when I disconnect the power. My problem manifests itself when it hits about 50 minutes left. It shuts off. No warning, no sleep, just death.

This is not a “good” problem.

Here’s what coconutBattery tells me:

It looks healthier than Jamie’s with a similar amount of wear, but I need to figure out this “shut down” issue.

Anyone else seeing this?

5 Responses to “MacBook Pro Battery Update”

  1. thingles Says:

    I’m guessing you have a completely defective cell in part of the battery. Time to try to get a replacement or recycle it and get a new one.😦

  2. eric Says:

    any updates on your situation? I’m having the exact same problem… is your MBP a 17″? Mine is shutting off at about four minutes!

  3. h. laws Says:

    I too have have a MacBook Pro. Although the battery indicator shows power left, it suddenly shuts off without warning. I very rarely use the battery but the adapter. What do you suppose the problem is?

    Any helpful comments are welcomed.

    Thanks,
    H. Laws

  4. Ira Says:

    Caved and finally got a new battery. Nice to see (even the wholly fictitious) 3:57 minutes when I unplug and know that it’s not going to up and quit on me in the middle of a senten

  5. James Says:

    Cheers Ira, hilarious comment😉


Comments are closed.

