A Giant AIG WTF! Someone needs a good house burning present.

October 7, 2008

After a day spent cutting corners, canceling cable, baking bread for the kids, writing, this is the kind of thing that makes me look forward to the more and more likely uprising in this country. It ain’t going to my head carried around on a pike.

Revolutionaries (with pitchforks and torches): “Sir, did you spend nearly a half million dollars on colonics, pedicures, facials and golf last week?”

Me: “No, but I just read an article you might be interested in.”

(grunting and shuffling as the mob turns)

Me: “Hey guys! Wait up!”

Hot off the presses. As if the $5MM bonuses weren’t enough…

The Washington Post is reporting that a whole mess of AIG assholes just spend a shitload of money at a posh resort in California — a place that no one reading this could afford (in a good economy).

The tab? Read on:

And just last week, about 70 of the company’s top performers were rewarded with a week-long stay at the luxury St. Regis Resort in Monarch Beach, Calif., where they ran up a tab of $440,000.

At a House committee hearing yesterday, Rep. Henry A. Waxman (D-Calif.) showed a photograph of the resort, which overlooks the Pacific Ocean, and reported expenses for AIG personnel including $200,000 for rooms, $150,000 for meals and $23,000 for the spa.

Apparently only like 10 executives went along. Whew!

I want felony charges brought — right, fucking, now.

Anyone else’s head about to explode?

One Response to “A Giant AIG WTF! Someone needs a good house burning present.”

  1. shawn Says:

    I totally agree. I read about this this morning and just about started throwing stuff. Like you, I’ve spent the last month trying to figure out what I can cut so that my family can afford groceries. I’ve cut most non-necessities in order to accomplish this (i.e. cut cable, cancelled Netflix, etc.). Then I read that these bastards are spending more than I make in many years on a spa? WTF? After I (actually we) bailed them out? Those execs ought to be required to pay that money back out of their fat salaries and bonuses and then should be prosecuted and fired. They should be thrown out on their asses without any sort of bonus or compensation. As a taxpayer (and someone who just put up money to save their asses) I don’t want to see any bonuses whatsoever going to these people. If they are allowed to keep their jobs, they should receive a HUGE salary cut. But you and I know that they will probably receive a slap on the wrist and possibly even a bonus for doing this. The rich get richer while the poor and middle-classes do all the work and reap none of the benefits. I’m in debt up to my ears as it is. Who’s fault is that? MINE! Who’s responsibility is it to pay it off? MINE! Do I get rewarded for racking up debt by having the government pay it for me and send me off to a spa retreat? HELL NO! Bullshit…


Comments are closed.

